Nancy Nickerson Elected as Town Council Chairperson

Farmington Town Council candidates weigh in on the election results.

Nancy Nickerson. Photo Credit: Submitted
Nancy Nickerson. Photo Credit: Submitted
Farmington residents elected Republican Nancy Nickerson, a previous Town Council member and former school board official, as Town Council chairperson on Tuesday. 

"I would like to thank the citizens of Farmington for supporting my election to the office of Town Council Chair," Nickerson said. "I truly appreciate the opportunity to continue serving and giving back to our community.  I look forward to working with the new Town Council to move Farmington into the future."

For the official results, click on the link provided

Her predecessor, Jeffrey Hogan did not run for re-election. After no one in her party challenged her to a primary, she ran against Democrat Robert Huelin, the Democratic Town Committee chairman. Huelin initially put his name on the ballot as a placeholder candidate and told the Courant that while he didn't campaign, he ran to give the voters a choice. Huelin congratulated Nickerson on the victory. 

Nickerson said that important issues the council faces in Farmington will be "to maintain core services, support our excellent schools, and continue to support thoughtful and strong economic development."

"We will be updating our strategic plan with a survey of the community in January," Nickerson said. "This will give the Town Council direction for future strategic planning guided by the residents priorities."

Some new faces will join her on the council. Republican Jon Landry (1,203), a current Board of Education member, and fellow Republican Peter Mastrobattista (1,183), currently on the Town Planning and Zoning Commission, will represent 1st District residents on the council.

"I’m honored to have the opportunity and the privilege to serve on our Town Council and I look forward to working with everyone on all sides to continue to maintain our excellent quality of life here," Landry wrote in an email to Patch. 

In the 2nd District, Republican newcomers Jeffrey P. Apuzzo (1,353) and Meredith Trimble (1,593), a current school board member, were elected. 

"I am honored to be able to bring my experience to the Town Council," Trimble said. "I look forward to continuing on the path set by current leadership, which includes Nancy Nickerson, that has given Farmington residents an excellent balance of high quality of life with adept fiscal management.  I enjoyed my service on the Board of Education and believe that Farmington families will continue to benefit from a close and productive Town-Board relationship."

Democratic incumbent John Vibert was the second-highest vote-getter in the 2nd District. His colleague, incumbent Amy Suffredini (D) will retain her seat even though she was the third-highest vote-getter in the 1st District because town charter requires minority representation on town boards, commissions and the council. 

"I am truly honored to have been given the opportunity to continue serving our wonderful town as a Town Council member. I will continue to do all I can to maintain Farmington as one of the best places to live and educate our children, while keeping our taxes affordable," Suffredini wrote in an email to Patch. "I congratulate all the other returning and newly elected Town Council members, and look forward to working together with them to keep Farmington strong."

On Thursday at 9 a.m., the moderators will recount the Board of Education votes because it was a close call. Unofficial vote tallies before the recount are 2,399 for Mark A. Blore (R), 2,400 for Shawn G. Curtis (R),  2,552 for William J. Baker (R), 2,607 for Ellen Siuta (D), 2,411 for Bill Beckert (D) and 2,480 for Paula O'Brien (D). Five of the six will be chosen. 

Landry said the competitive of the race for the board he is leaving "shows the dedication of all of our candidates to do the best job that they can for our town and for our children."

"We are very fortunate to have such passionate individuals volunteering their time and their talents and whatever the outcome, we will have a great group of people serving our town," Landry said. 

In the other races, John T. Simoneau (R) and Liz Giannaros (D) were chosen for the Board of Assessment Appeals; incumbents Philip Dunn Jr. (R), Robert A. Jarvis (R) and Barbara Brenneman (D) were re-elected to the Town Planning and Zoning Commission and Todd Litchfield (D) was ousted; Michael V. Gurski (R), Jay Fraprie (R) and Peter Badigian Jr. were picked as TPZ alternates; Johnny D. Carrier (R), Sharon G. Mazzochi (R) and Edward Giannaros (D) were elected to the Zoning Board of Appeals; Gary A. Palumbo (R), John W. Brockelman Sr. (R), and Kerry J. Robair (D) were chosen as ZBA alternates; and Geno J. Avenoso (R), Diane M. Rogers (R) and Craig Reed (D) were chosen as constables. 

What do you think about the Farmington election results? Tell us in the comments!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »